Jump to content


Circuit of the Americas


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Warren Hall Jr.

Warren Hall Jr.

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 November 2019 - 07:56 PM

I didn't know where to put this.
Is anyone working on Circuit of the Americas?
Warren

#2 Royale

Royale

    Honored Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,777 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maryland, USA
  • Interests:Vroom vroom

Posted 05 November 2019 - 03:53 AM

Not that I've heard.

And from what I can read here about what's required in track making, it's not high on my list of US tracks I'd die for in GPL :2c: :2c:   Bob

#3 Manfred Cubenoggin

Manfred Cubenoggin

    Honored Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 594 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 November 2019 - 06:45 AM

Bo Bruce of the OAO was giving this a shot a year or so back but quickly shelved the idea.  Learning curve and all that.

#4 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    oAo Admin

  • Administrators
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana USA

Posted 06 November 2019 - 01:00 PM

right... i have some files, but i did not create them. i attempted to start the project, and after 8 hours trying to do the track outline (from google maps) :P  i wrote a track builder, and he replied w/in an hour with the track layout.. base.. no graphics, no elevation changes, etc etc....   i've written to him for permission to share his files, w/ anyone brave enough to attempt a build.
HaPpy TrAiLs

#5 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Honored Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,706 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)

Posted 06 November 2019 - 01:22 PM

From what I have seen the track is available for rFactor 2, Assetto Corsa and as payware for iRacing.

#6 Warren Hall Jr.

Warren Hall Jr.

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 November 2019 - 03:27 PM

So, Circuit of the Americas is available on a bunch of other racing sims but no plans for GPL.
I think it's a great looking track. I would love to have it for GPL.
Warren

#7 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    oAo Admin

  • Administrators
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana USA

Posted 08 November 2019 - 09:40 PM

i have some files that i've been given permission to send to anyone that wants to have a go at it.
i too would like to have it for GPL, but you need more time/brains than i have to make it happen.
HaPpy TrAiLs