Jump to content


GPL Editing Tools


  • Please log in to reply
59 replies to this topic

#26 grizz

grizz

    Honored Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 September 2018 - 09:40 AM

Hello everyone. :)

I'm watching the tutorial to build a first track.
I start with a small track. Nothing is impossible. :artist:

:drive1:

grizz

#27 Mr. Photog

Mr. Photog

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 August 2019 - 12:59 PM

Is the track creating guide missing from the link in the first post? Just tried and got an error message.

#28 ginetto

ginetto

    Master Tracker

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia ITALIA

Posted 22 August 2019 - 05:42 PM

View PostMr. Photog, on 22 August 2019 - 12:59 PM, said:

Is the track creating guide missing from the link in the first post? Just tried and got an error message.
Yes, long gone;  just download the PDF attached there, has the track creating guide plus Guru's notes on files.

Done these tracks and working on others.


#29 webfoot

webfoot

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, England.

Posted 23 August 2019 - 01:38 AM

Mr Photog

Also see the pdf in post #25

#30 Mr. Photog

Mr. Photog

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 August 2019 - 06:18 AM

Thanks, all!

#31 Eggbomb

Eggbomb

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • GPL '69 Rank:0

Posted 09 February 2020 - 02:15 PM

Can someone please post up a copy of the Sciss program

#32 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,978 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA

Posted 09 February 2020 - 03:49 PM

Here ya go:

Attached File  Sciss_by_Phil_Flack.rar   23.78K   12 downloads
Greg

... What's who's name?

#33 ljmagyar

ljmagyar

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 99 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana, USA

Posted 11 March 2020 - 07:37 AM

The SRB Mini Editor link is dead from the GPL++ website.

Attached Files



#34 ljmagyar

ljmagyar

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 99 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana, USA

Posted 16 March 2020 - 05:54 AM

The link to Martin Granberg's track installer is dead.  Since the last copy I had of that utility (bridgehampton) was busted, does anyone have a working version?

#35 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,978 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA

Posted 16 March 2020 - 06:17 AM

see BELOW for  ver. 1.16
   by Bernd Nowak
Greg

... What's who's name?

#36 ljmagyar

ljmagyar

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 99 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana, USA

Posted 16 March 2020 - 07:15 AM

Thank you sir!

#37 ginetto

ginetto

    Master Tracker

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia ITALIA

Posted 31 March 2020 - 06:27 PM

Track Installer v. 1.16
Attached File  TrackInstaller116.7z   1.06MB   13 downloads

- added the line for season.ini trackShortName=
- updated icon and bitmaps of the installer
- aligned the check box options

Done these tracks and working on others.


#38 Pavel

Pavel

    Honored Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 437 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Minsk, Belarus
  • Interests:Autosport, Simracing, Music

Posted 01 April 2020 - 05:09 AM

It is possible to modify track installer in such way that it will be possible to chose proper season.ini file during installation?

#39 ginetto

ginetto

    Master Tracker

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia ITALIA

Posted 01 April 2020 - 10:32 AM

Pavel, I did check how that works and realized that is beyond my skills; the window should be much bigger or it should have the checkbox for 67season.ini replaced with a scroll down menu with all the options.
The file that control everything is trackinstaller.iss if anyone want eventually give it a go.

Looking at it I noticed that the 3 options with check box  were a little off alignment so I did fix that little thing; see first post for the updated files.

Done these tracks and working on others.


#40 Pavel

Pavel

    Honored Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 437 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Minsk, Belarus
  • Interests:Autosport, Simracing, Music

Posted 01 April 2020 - 11:17 AM

Ginetto, I'm at home and downloaded your pack. I think I can make it :detective2:

#41 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Honored Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,744 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toulouse France

Posted 01 May 2020 - 02:25 PM

I am not sure if it is the good place to post, but here two captures attached and you understand the work  that should keep me busy for a while, editing the tracks cameras positions. As such, on all the tracks, current TV1 and TV2 positions are most of the time  less beautiful, or useless  or with unwatchable scenes displaying, car being too much on the foreground, and the beautiful scenery around cut or partly rendered,  on a 7680 X 1440 display

I want to start by editing first  the TV1 , TV2 and Pit  track cameras, on one track, to improve my practice. Once done, and if the result worth it, the cam file will be uploaded here.So everyone playing now or in the future with the same resolution, or an approaching ratio resolution will have the opportunity to install it.

Then, I will do the same job for another track.My plan is to edit the Papyrus original tracks + Bugatti  and later others great tracks ...

I downloaded Joachim Blum trkCAMedit and it installed and works OK ( Win 10 )

  My questions are from an absolute beginner


When I want to load cam files on the program, I have seen usually there is no .cam files in the track folder .Some of them have the file, but more haven't . For instance, on alphabetical order of the track installed, aintree, albi7, ardmore haven't  a .cam file ect, ect....for the original tracks, Kyalami and the Nürburgring either

Does the .cam file are integrated on another file as the  track dat ?

Do I need to open another file with an editor to extract the.cam file ?

I have begin  to read the tutorial  of this program. Everything seems clear. Is it the best utility to do the job ?


Thank you alls for your feedback on your own experience

Attached Files


Edited by M Needforspeed, 01 May 2020 - 03:08 PM.


#42 ginetto

ginetto

    Master Tracker

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia ITALIA

Posted 01 May 2020 - 02:38 PM

I use the newer CamEdit by Nigel Pattinson.
Use the same settings ( so the tutorial you've read is good) but much quicker to work with plus does not have the number camera limit of trkCAMedit.

Usually the track.CAM file is in the track.DAT
If you got an update by someone then it will be loose in the track folder since the loose files have precedence over the ones in the DAT.

To be quick, I usually have gpl open in a window in  smaller size but same proportions together with CamEdit.
This way, playing a replay you instantly see the camera that need to be change, do it in carcam, save the file and then in GPL, just exit the replay and re enter again.
Very quick if you can use this method :)

Done these tracks and working on others.


#43 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Honored Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,744 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toulouse France

Posted 01 May 2020 - 02:45 PM

Thks Ginetto,  


your first remarks are already helpful !


Is CamEdit for dld at the Repository ?

found it at SRMZ

Edited by M Needforspeed, 01 May 2020 - 02:55 PM.


#44 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Honored Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,744 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toulouse France

Posted 01 May 2020 - 03:38 PM

I though GPL in windowed mode wasn't possible with OGL V 2 ? What can I do to get it run


Oh, sorry, are you suggesting  I change my reso during the monitoring of the change, so I can display camedit on one screen, and GPL on another .For instance, I can use 1920 X 1080 . But then, when I will see the immediate camera change in GPL, it won't display the same scene that the one  displayed when I 'll go back to 7680 X 1440 .So ain't easy to control if the camera settings are correct for the targeted resolution.


but I am certainly missing something....

to get the around the same ratio, I wld need a custom resolution of 1920/5,33333 = 371,xxx let say 1920 X 360   (7680/1440 = 5,3333333..).GEM most approaching custom settings availables is 1920 X 480, and I am not sure it works...


Edited by M Needforspeed, 01 May 2020 - 04:16 PM.


#45 ginetto

ginetto

    Master Tracker

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia ITALIA

Posted 01 May 2020 - 05:45 PM

You need to do some tests for the right resolution.

v1 of the rasterizers had a customizable resolution.
Anyway, v1 is not working with 32bits mips or big mips such as 2048pix. IIRC
So I guess original tracks should be fine in window mode using a ratio as you need but smaller so you can see also the camera tool and do the changes on the fly. :)

Done these tracks and working on others.


#46 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Honored Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,744 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toulouse France

Posted 02 May 2020 - 01:37 AM

Thks

Then , as the first track to work on are Papy originals, I will use the original CD Rom tracks. It shld work .

Installed the tracks, and added the extra .cam file in the folder where available, as at Silverstone.

And I have to use a carset without 2048.

Does 32 bits mips are used for the cars ? Oh, I can use the CD Rom original 67 carset !

Edited by M Needforspeed, 02 May 2020 - 01:50 AM.


#47 Lee

Lee

    Honored Member

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,564 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 May 2020 - 05:49 AM

For me to run GPL in a window,

1.  Use D3D7 or OpenGL v1
2.  Set resolution to 640x480 or 800x600 to keep window small
3.  Edit core.ini to run in windows mode--"fullScreen=0"
4.  Set Windows desktop color to 16 bit

Some mods such as the '67 Sports Cars have Type 7 car .mips so you can't run the mod in a window as they need v2 rasterizers.

#48 ginetto

ginetto

    Master Tracker

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia ITALIA

Posted 02 May 2020 - 08:44 AM

Well, if you can use Linux, you can have  windowed mode with all the newer updates; 32 bits and huge mips.

In win7 or 10, GPL resolution can also be same as your full screen but need to be in a window; you can switch between GPL and CamEdit using tab key.
Just keep a piece of paper eventually so you can write down the changes you will do :)

Done these tracks and working on others.


#49 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Honored Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,744 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toulouse France

Posted 02 May 2020 - 09:04 AM

Lee  and ginetto,

I installed a new GPL from the CD Rom so I won't have problems with texture sizes .

I did the 1,2, and 3 steps

For step 4, seems  a window  16 bit reso isn't possible with those new GFX (pic attached)

  When I launch GPL in 640 X 480 / OGL V 1 / Core.ini in window mode, it still displays GPL full central screen. maybe there is something else needed for a windowed mode. At the moment, I haven't any patch installed on the GPL folder, apart the core.ini file.Cars are running fast, and it is so long time ago, I don't remember how to patch the game for running with fast CPU !

... the two sided monitor shld work, but GPL display correctly on the center screen, and they switch to the black standby mode

the Linux solution , why not but later if  I can't sort it out !!

Is 16 bit mandatory to run GPL on a window ?

Attached Files


Edited by M Needforspeed, 02 May 2020 - 12:24 PM.


#50 Lee

Lee

    Honored Member

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,564 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 May 2020 - 01:07 PM

You're right.  Some monitors; mostly laptops can't do 16 bit color for the desktop and can't run GPL in a window in my experience.

When I debug GPL using my Windows 10 laptop, I have to attach a second monitor so that GPL runs on it and the laptop runs the debugger program.  I can't set 16 bit color on the laptop.

On my Windows 7 PC, its attached monitor can be set to 16 bit color so I can run GPL in a small window and the debugger program in a larger window.