51 replies to this topic

#1 tjc

tjc

Update Noob

• PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 02 October 2011 - 08:43 AM

Hey guys...

First off I have to say I`m a complete noob at doing any sort of Gpl editing (well editing in general I suppose) :unsure: so please bare with me.

I`d also like to say that I`d very much like to learn about all things editing so I may be back with more threads/questions, I hope that`s cool.

:)

Anyhow, what I`d like to ask is this:

I have an update for Monza 67 that I really like but I`m not overly keen on the asphalt that comes with it... I`ve seen another update for Monza with an asphalt I do really like. Can I use one updates asphalt in the other update or would this cause problems?

IE - can I use the asphalt from update 1 in update 2? If the answer is yes but there`s a process of doing this I`d apprecite it very much if someone would run through that process keeping in mind I`m a noob  :P

Plus is it possible to use the asphalt from one track on another, different track or is this out of the question?

I look forward to starting the learning process...

Thanks.

tj. :)

#2 sky

sky

ultra highres junkie

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,156 posts

Posted 02 October 2011 - 08:55 AM

tj, this should be possible. unless you intend to release it to the public, in which case it'd be appropriate to ask the editor of the packages whether or not you can include their files.

that aside, combining packages of the same track should be rather straightforward. grab asphalt texture from pack 1, and copy it over asphalt texture of pack 2. done. please note that for most tracks more than one asphalt texture is used. i.e. the verge is re-using bits of the same asphalt plus parts from the dirt or grass texture. also there maybe variations of the asphalt, where some areas are showing shadows, etc. i'm not sure if that has been done in the pits at monza though.