Jump to content


3D Object See-Through Fix ?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,001 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA

Posted 14 March 2017 - 05:22 PM

ginetto, can a 3D object be changed to eliminate see-through from one viewing direction?  At Zandvoort the cars in their pit boxes are seen through the rear wall of the pit building.  Because the pit building object is a self-contained external 3do can it be fixed?

If you can show me (or have the time to do it yourself) it would be a great improvement.  I can provide my pitbldg.3do with all of the required mips to make it viewable.

Attached Files


Edited by gliebzeit, 14 March 2017 - 05:27 PM.

Greg

... What's who's name?

#2 ginetto

ginetto

    Master Tracker

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,245 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia ITALIA

Posted 14 March 2017 - 05:47 PM

I don't think it can without recompiling the track and that is a problem for this one.
Is not the 3DO itself but how is placed in the track 3DO; you should need a track wall to divide the 3DO object from the cars so the program knows that the object is at one side and the cars at the other. Other solution could be found with the possibility to recompile but Papys tracks don't let you do so.
Sorry

Done these tracks and working on others.


#3 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,001 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA

Posted 14 March 2017 - 06:23 PM

Thank you, my friend, for explaining the reasoning behind the facts.  :)

You've given me another piece of G.P.L. editing wisdom.
Greg

... What's who's name?

#4 Royale

Royale

    Honored Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,397 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maryland, USA
  • Interests:Vroom vroom

Posted 26 November 2017 - 06:32 AM

Using the G.P.L. editor I've been cleaning up my models including the '62s as best I can.
Progress for sure but I have run into two puzzles:

- I want to expand the bounding boxes for the tires but I don't understand the logic of the boxes.
   Any thing I try just distorts the box. Other model "box reference" numbers don't work either.  Thoughts? :ermm:

-I want to adjust the size of the steering wheel in the outside view but I don't know what to adjust. :detective: More thoughts?

#5 pioujd428

pioujd428

    Chris

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth Australia
  • Interests:Racing Grand Prix Legends from start of 1967 to end of 1968

Posted 30 December 2017 - 09:58 PM

Did you have any luck adjusting the steering wheel Bob? I know how to adjust the steering wheel sizes for both inside and outside views together. I don't think it is possible to edit just the one. At least on any of the 3dos I have worked on.

I don't know anything about bounding boxes though.

Edited by pioujd428, 30 December 2017 - 09:59 PM.


#6 Royale

Royale

    Honored Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,397 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maryland, USA
  • Interests:Vroom vroom

Posted 24 January 2018 - 04:34 PM

Hi. Missed this. Sry. Any insights would be welcome.   Bob

#7 pioujd428

pioujd428

    Chris

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth Australia
  • Interests:Racing Grand Prix Legends from start of 1967 to end of 1968

Posted 25 January 2018 - 06:54 AM

Open GPLeditor and look at the Node Repository-Flavour 5 section (step 1). Then scroll down until you find the steering wheel texture. For my 3do b11ster (step 2). Then search for that node by pressing f3 and typing in the offset. For me 451c. Somewhere around there you should find the polygon for the steering wheel and its vertices (step 3). The vertices for me are 553-556. Then go to SZYX (step 4) and edit the values to what you like (step 5). You will need to mess around with those values to get the result you are after. I can't help there. The 62's are a good idea for a mod in my opinion so I hope this helps. :thumbup:

Attached Files


Edited by pioujd428, 25 January 2018 - 07:11 AM.


#8 ginetto

ginetto

    Master Tracker

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,245 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia ITALIA

Posted 25 January 2018 - 07:15 AM

I go in the MIRP "PRIM" steer Tree Root sectionAttached File  1.jpg   105.18K   11 downloads and using F2, go into the steering wheel polygon, double click and find the 4 vertices used to size it Attached File  2.jpg   133.24K   13 downloadsthen same as pioujd.
Or just Shift and left click on a vertex to be able to change it on the flyAttached File  3.jpg   116.02K   12 downloads, without the need to go in the vertices list.

Done these tracks and working on others.


#9 ginetto

ginetto

    Master Tracker

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,245 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia ITALIA

Posted 25 January 2018 - 07:28 AM

I don't remember when the teerl2 and teerh2 (names for this particular car) are used but if the teerl2 (low res)  is used on the outside view, while the teerh2 (high res) is used in the cockpit view, since they go on 2 different polygons, you could add 4 vertices and assign them to one of the 2.
This way you should have a size for the teerh texture independent from the one of the teerl texture. :)
Understandable? :blink:

Attached Files

  • Attached File  aaa.jpg   110.53K   6 downloads

Done these tracks and working on others.


#10 Royale

Royale

    Honored Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,397 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maryland, USA
  • Interests:Vroom vroom

Posted 25 January 2018 - 04:29 PM

Thank you guys.  Bob

#11 pioujd428

pioujd428

    Chris

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth Australia
  • Interests:Racing Grand Prix Legends from start of 1967 to end of 1968

Posted 25 January 2018 - 07:51 PM

Ah yes I see now Ginetto how you could make either the low res or high res use different vertices so it is possible to edit the size of only one. I forgot I remove the low res string from my 3dos.