2 replies to this topic

#1 tjc

tjc

Update Noob

• PipPipPipPip
  • 48 posts

Posted 06 February 2020 - 10:47 AM

Hi all,

Ok, before I go any further I have to say I think what I`m about to ask (big clue in the thread title :D) could be well out of my league but here goes...

How would I go about creating hi-res car skins for GPL?

I know from reading stuff that GPL is a bit quirky in respect of editing (or certainly can be) so I`m under no illusions that this would be an easy thing to do, especially for a complete noob but I`d like to ask for some pointers and advice on how this could be achieved.

What`s the starting point? What tools are needed? How hi-res can skins be made for GPL? Are there any tuts around anywhere? I could go on...

Let`s just say that for EG, I want to do a hi-res (as hi-res as GPL will allow) skin for the Lotus 49 (my fave car) how would I go about doing that?

I have, at present, no clue as to where to start with GPL. I know my way around Photoshop, to a degree anyway and have created quite a few hi-res skins for other, more modern race sims. I know (think?) it`s a much more difficult process working with GPL...

I also know that others have created some hi-res skins for GPL/mods. Sky has done some and Orpheus has too and some others I think but I don`t know if that many exist.

Anyway, as I say, I know this would be a lot of work for a noob to get their head round but if I can get some help and advice I may just give it a go so any info on this would be very much appreciated.

I hope this is posted in the correct place. If not could a mod please move, thanks.

tj

#2 sky

sky

ultra highres junkie

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,346 posts

Posted 06 February 2020 - 03:44 PM

Hey TJ,